APPG holds Annual General Meeting

The APPG on Global TB held its Annual General Meeting on 11 September 2018 in Parliament, discussing progress made in advance of the first UN High-Level Meeting on TB and kickstarting a new parliamentary year of activities.

Maintaining parliamentary support for UK Government leadership on delivering the commitments made at the UN High-Level Meeting, both in the UK and internationally, will be crucial. The APPG and its members will continue to advance this important agenda.

The minutes of the meeting are as follows:


Rt Hon Nick Herbert CBE MP

Mr Virendra Sharma MP

Jim Fitzpatrick MP

The Baroness Barker

Stephen Gethins MP

Nic Dakin MP

Jeremy Lefroy MP

Fiona Bruce MP


Baroness Masham of Ilton

Baroness Sheehan

Baroness Suttie

Martyn Day MP

Lord Chidgey

Stephen Timms MP

Those present agreed the election of the following officers unanimously:

Chair & Registered Contact: Rt Hon Nick Herbert CBE MP

Co-Chair: Virendra Sharma MP

Vice-Chairs: Nic Dakin MP, Jim Fitzpatrick MP, Baroness Sheehan, Baroness Suttie

Those present agreed that over the next parliamentary year, the Group would focus on TB both in the UK and overseas, with its key areas of work over the coming year being:

  • Following up on the commitments made at the UN High-Level Meeting on TB, including commitments on R&D and reaching the targets set forth in the UN High-Level Meeting political declaration.

  • Research and development into new drugs, diagnostics and vaccines, ensuring TB is fully integrated into the AMR agenda both in the UK and through international bodies like the G20 and WHO.

  • Ensuring the Collaborative TB Strategy for England 2015-2020 is fully implemented and the long-term sustainability of TB control in England is sustained beyond 2020.

  • The Global Fund to Fight AIDS, TB and Malaria replenishment in 2019.

Key actions include:

  • Launch of the APPG Inquiry into the Collaborative TB Strategy for England 2015-2020

  • World TB Day reception & possible report

  • Parliamentary debates

  • Parliamentary questions

  • Strengthening ties with the academic community